Pay your bill

Sri Lanka Telecom Hosts ‘SLT Zero One Awards’ Ceremony

The 22nd of June 2017 saw Sri Lanka Telecom host the SLT Zero One Awards ceremony at the Grand Ballroom of Hilton Hotel in Colombo. The event was live telecast on PEO TV and all other social media channels of SLT.

Present at the event was the Minister of Telecommunication & Digital Infrastructure, Hon. Harin Fernando, the Group Chairman of SLT, Mr. P.G Kumarasinghe Sirisena, the GCEO of SLT, Mr. Dileepa Wijesundera and other senior members of the organization’s management together with the crème de la crème of all related sectors and industries.

Speaking at the event, Minister Harin Fernando congratulated Sri Lanka Telecom on having organized the SLT Zero One Awards – the country’s first awards program dedicated to digital excellence. Minister Fernando also emphasized the importance of encouraging people to embrace the digital lifestyle and engage more enthusiastically in ICT and technology.

The awards were divided into two main categories – Institutional and Individual. Lifetime Awards were also presented to professionals who have made significant contributions to the digital industry - Prof. Abhaya Induruwa in recognition of the yeomen contribution he has made to the computer education sector and data communication industry over the years by pioneering ICT education and by playing a pivotal role in the deployment of the Internet in Sri Lanka; Mr. Krishan Canekeratne was recognized for his exceptional entrepreneurial drive that creates opportunities for Sri Lankan talent to participate, contribute and be recognized on the world stage; Mr. Jayantha Fernando, an Internet Law and Policy Expert who has pioneered ICT Legal policy reform and the establishment of Internet governance processes in Sri Lanka.

The overall winners of the ‘SLT Zero One awards’ were as follows, ‘Best Digital-Enabled Product/Service’ – Sampath Bank PLC; ‘Best Digital Integrated Campaign’ – Litro Gas Lanka Limited; ‘Best Community Empowerment Program’ – ikman (Pvt) Ltd; ‘Best Digital Media Agency’ – eMarketingEye (Pvt) Ltd; ‘Best Website or Microsite’ – Laugfs Holdings Ltd; ‘Best Use of Mobile’ – zMessenger (Pvt) Ltd; ‘Best Software/Application Developer’– Mr. Nuwan Dehigaspitiya.

As the pioneer of the country’s ICT industry, Sri Lanka Telecom has always been at the forefront when it comes to introducing innovative forms of promoting the nation’s digital evolution, and the SLT Zero One Awards are but the most recent testimony to this fact.